Salsa Wars

I make excellent salsa. I like my own salsa so much that I will not buy commercial salsas, and I am usually disappointed with restaurant salsa. I use a recipe that my dear friend Susan sent me; I think that she got it from the Austin American Statesman.  I make salsa every week or two because it is noticeably superior to other salsas. Except for my friend Don’s.  I am peeved by the possibility that I may like Don’s salsa more than I like mine, and he won’t share the recipe. Selfish, selfish, selfish  So, today I spent the morning carefully inspecting and comparing a batch he gave us with a batch of my own. 

salsaThe first thing I noticed, because my husband pointed it out, is that Don’s salsa is chunkier–probably chopped by hand.  I’m not doing that.  I make fantastic salsa in the blender, but I’ll consider holding back portions to add at the end to create an illusion of knife work.  A few carefully dipped chips later brings me to the conclusion that Don uses less cumin.  Too bad.  I really enjoy cumin.  It approaches the position of magic ingredient.  Okay, I have been doubling the amount called for in the recipe, so I’ll cut back.  Then there are all those obvious green onions floating arounod in the salsa.  Of course!  I happen to have a couple in the fridge.  I’ll throw them into my batch today-at the end so that they can remain recognizable slices.
The final touch:  I know that Don roasts his jalapenos.  I carefully blacken mine today before tossing them into the blender.  Does it make a difference? Unfortunately, yes.  Although, I suspect that he might add a drop of liquid smoke or roast his tomatoes too.  Then, there is the question of tomatillos.  Does he use them?  I do!  Maybe he does not use as many, but how can I be sure? 

tomcil
Fortunately, today’s batch of salsa with roasted jalapeno and green onions was fantastic.  Was it better than Don’s?  I’m not sure because we finished off his little gift jar today.  I may have to wait until next summer to find out.  

One thought on “Salsa Wars

  1. well well my brilliant, wittiest of the witty and wonderful cook—- pretty good blog and I ‘d wager that salsa is mighty scrumptious!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

