So little time…

We adopted a new cat, but I’ll tell you about him later.  We had family come visit for a lovely Mother’s Day weekend.  The school year is speeding toward the big finish, so Progress Reports become more and more important. Work and Life continue apace, and I need more time.  (Maybe I could give up sleeping? showering? I really need that Star-Trek transporter thing.) I went to book group last night despite having not read the last seventy pages.  Fortunately, nothing was revealed that I hadn’t suspected, but I hate not keeping up!  Yet, summer is coming.  

Summer Vacation, or summer catch-up time as we teachers like to call it, is twenty-four  and a half work-days away.   While we do have exciting travel plans, and I have every intention of de-cluttering my closet, I’m salivating over my reading list.  Both parts.  Because we’ve added some new books to the curriculum, my list is divided into have to read and want to read.   Whatever the list, I get to read!   Here’s what I have so far:

Books I have to Read
Behind the Beautiful Forevers
Katherine Boo
Homeless Bird
Gloria Whelan
The Things They Carried
Tim O’Brien
and I have to run back through The Crucible ( excuse my hairball sounds)

en Français
Jean de Florette
Marcel Pagnol
Le Carrefour des Écrasés
Claude Izner
(and others TBD)

Books I want to Read
Wide Sargasso Sea
Jean Rhys
The Round House
Louise Erdrich
Midnight’s Children
Salman Rushdie
Why We Broke Up
Daniel Handler (mostly because I love Maira Kalman)
Up In The Old Hotel
Joseph Mitchell
The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
David Mitchell
Love and Longing in Bombay
Vikram Chandra

Those are just the beginning.  I need to fish around on my shelves and under my bed for the books I already bought but haven’t read.  Any suggestions?

One thought on “So little time…

  1. Just finished “In the Time of the Butterflies” by Julia Alvarez. Can recommend it! Beautifully written fictionalized account of real historical events udner the regin of Trujillo in the Dominican Refpublic. Told through the eyes of four sisters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

