The Ear-Worm Turns…

Do you ever have partial ear-worms?  Those pesky snippets of songs that you heard a few times when you were about 12 years old that stuck with you even though you may not have ever heard the entire song, being the busy, scatterbrained child that you were?  Well, I’ve had one for decades, a song that I thought was about Viet Nam since the singer was obviously searching for his lost buddy. The music was dramatic and the chorus wailing, making it a great sing-along song.  I’ve tried Googling the lyrics I think I remember, but I’ve never had any success.  I decided to try again since I’m getting ready to teach a unit on The Things They Carried,  and I’ve been putting together a play-list of some of my favorite protest songs.  (“What’s Going On” has got to be one of the greatest songs ever).

Well, I had some success this time, finding this song and this information.  Uh-oh, I cannot use this at all because, even though 1971 is Viet Nam war time, this song has nothing to do with lost soldiers.  It’s about trapped miners and cannibalism.  Oops. Never mind.

What must the neighbors think when I’m weeding in the yard and singing “Timothy, Timothy, where on earth did you go?”! !!  (It is a catchy tune)

I guess I’ll have to stick to the “Feel Like I’m Fixing to Die Rag”.

Leave a Reply

